To educate and inspire our nation’s current and future state legislative leaders to excellence, without regard for party, politics, or ideology.

Previous SLLF Events

Election 2020: What Happened and Why
November 18th

Charlie Cook of The Cook Political Report spoke with us on Wednesday, November 18 to help us make sense of the chaotic and historic 2020 elections! Why were polls and prognosticators off ? Or were they? Was the “pandemic election,” with its high turnout and mass of early voting an aberration or an indicator of future elections? Blue wave? Red wave? Click on the watch webinar link to view a recording.

To learn more, please contact MPena@sllf.org

Watch Webinar
Click to view other Previous SLLF Webinars

SLLF On-going Events

Conversations with Leaders

SLLF is hosting private monthly virtual meetings for different cohorts of legislative leaders and members of our business advisory council. These informal, off-the-record discussions will focus on COVID-19 and its impact on the lives of the citizens of our states, the future vitality of our economy and other issues that are important to leaders. These conversations offer a perfect chance for you to get together with other leaders to see how you can help each other.

By Invitation Only

To learn more, please contact MPena@sllf.org


The health and safety of our employees and members is our foremost concern. As this pandemic evolves, SLLF will make decisions about upcoming programs and we will update you as often as we can. Please know we are a resource and we are ready to help in any way we can during these uncertain times. Remember, all legislative leaders and members of the business community around the country are facing the same challenges you are and we are more than willing to connect you.

The SLLF offices have temporarily closed and all of our staff will be working from home. You can email them directly from our staff page or use the info@sllf.org email to reach us. We will be checking emails and voicemails regularly.

Helpful resources


MultiState has created the COVID-19 State and Local Policy Dashboard that provides a quick and easy reference to updates and information issued by state and key local agencies and policymakers (updated daily).

MultiState Response to COVID-19

StateSide Associates

StateSide Associates has created  “State Snapshot: A Covid-19 Report” a weekly report that provides the stage of reopening and current information on key issues in all 50 states

StateSide Associates State Snapshot


Deloitte Center for Government Insights published Executing the COVID-19 Recovery, a guide to help states in reopening and restoring their economies.

Deloitte Response to COVID-19


Roger Hanshaw

“SLLF programs are unique because of their leadership focus. Every conference talks policy but SLLF programs are tailored to what we as leaders face on a daily basis.”

Roger Hanshaw, Speaker of the House, West Virginia
Loretta Weinberg

“As a legislator, I get so involved in my day-to-day responsibilities that it is refreshing to spend a little time learning about new things. SLLF provides that environment.”

Loretta Weinberg, Senate Majority Leader, New Jersey
Jeff Yarbro

“SLLF puts together better substance than any other seminars for legislators. SLLF is one of the only places elected leaders are having the conversations they need to have.”

Jeff Yarbro, Senate Minority Leader, Tennessee