Past Programs

Past Programs 2017-09-21T15:05:26+00:00

Event Information:

  • Sun

    2012 Annual Meeting

    Anchorage, Alaska

    2012 National Speakers Conference
    Hosted by Mike Chenault, Speaker of the House, Alaska

    The Honorable Mike Chenault, Speaker of the Alaska House and President of the National Speakers Conference, promises that this annual meeting will be “like nothing else you have ever done or seen,” reflecting the power and beauty that makes Alaska unique. The annual program will open with a reception at the Anchorage Museum of History and Art at Rasmuson Center in the heart of Alaska’s largest city. Plenary sessions and the Speakers and Chiefs of Staff sessions will begin the following day.

    Plenary sessions will kick off with Tim Storey and Corina Eckl of the National Conference of State Legislatures who will address the “State of the States,” a discussion of the political and fiscal conditions of the states. Then we’ll ease from money to politics, with Dr. Alan Abramowitz, of Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia, offering his predictions for November 2012. Also speaking in our plenary sessions will be Senator Lisa Murkowski, Governor Sean Parnell, and Lt. General Stephen I. Hoog.

    The Annual Meeting won’t just be the plenary sessions, however. We are going all the way to Alaska and we ought to see some of its great sites. On Monday evening, participants will have dinner and be entertained at the Alaska Native Heritage Center, a renowned cultural center and museum, where we can expand our understanding of Alaska's indigenous people and explore the rich heritage of Alaska's eleven cultural groups. Later in the week, program participants will enjoy an all day excursion to Seward, Alaska, including a tour at the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center, a scenic train trip from Seward back to Anchorage, a tram ride to the top of Mount Alyeska for a reception, and an Annual Meeting wrap up with dinner and entertainment at the historic Crow Creek Gold Mine.

    Don’t miss out! More than thirty Speakers and twenty Chiefs of Staff have already signed up.